人们行走的图像,周围的树木

关于

在全球环境基金的资助和联合国环境规划署的领导下,UrbanShift正致力于通过可持续的、综合的、零碳的城市发展,为人类和地球转型城市。

从印度苏拉特的海岸管理措施到巴西特雷西纳的低排放区,以及卢旺达基加利的升级版非正规住区,UrbanShift的使命是培养一种植根于公平和整合的城市发展实践,解决的不仅仅是一个城市挑战,而是更多。

我们正在与亚洲、非洲和拉丁美洲的23个以上的城市合作,实施一系列跨部门的战略,减少碳排放,保护生物多样性,同时促进可持续的、公平的增长。我们还在建立一个知识和学习平台,将世界各地的城市与他们所需的工具、培训和宣传联系起来,将这些战略付诸行动。

为什么是城市?

城市是42亿人的家,超过世界人口的一半。这些繁华的人类栖息地是我们日常奔波的地方,我们在这里努力为自己和家人建立一个更好的未来。但是,今天的城市面临着前所未有的挑战--洪水、风暴、热浪、不断恶化的空气质量、不断加深的社会不平等--再加上气候危机和全球新冠疫情的影响。

虽然情况令人生畏,但也有好的一面:城市是全球经济的引擎,是创造力和创新的中心,并且一直拥有巨大的变革潜力。

UrbanShift的目标是催化这种潜力。通过授权城市领导人与企业、机构和政府合作,我们正在建立健康、充满活力的社区,使自然生态系统得到恢复和保护,碳排放得到中和,使平衡向人类和地球倾斜。

Image of people walking, trees around

About

Funded by the Global Environment Facility and led by the UN Environment Programme, UrbanShift is working to transform cities for people and planet through sustainable, integrated, zero-carbon urban development.

From coastal management measures in Surat, India to low-emission zones in Teresina, Brazil and upgraded informal settlements in Kigali, Rwanda, UrbanShift’s mission is to cultivate an urban development practice that is rooted in equity and integration, addressing not just one urban challenge, but many.

We’re collaborating with more than 23 cities in Asia, Africa and Latin America on a range of cross-sectoral strategies, reducing carbon emissions and conserving biodiversity while fostering sustainable, equitable growth. We’re also building a knowledge and learning platform that connects cities worldwide with the tools, training and advocacy they need to put these strategies into action.

WHY CITIES?

Cities are home to 4.2 billion people – more than half of the world’s population. These bustling human habitats are where our daily struggles unfold, where we strive to build a better future for ourselves and our families. But cities today face unprecedented challenges – floods, storms, heatwaves, deteriorating air quality, deepening social inequity – compounded by the climate crisis and the COVID-19 pandemic.

Though the circumstances are daunting, there’s a flip side: cities are the engines of the global economy, hubs of creativity and innovation, and have always possessed enormous potential for change.

UrbanShift’s goal is to catalyze this potential. By empowering city leaders to work together with businesses, institutions and governments, we’re shaping healthy, vibrant communities where natural ecosystems are restored and protected and carbon emissions neutralized, tilting the balance in favor of people and the planet.