塞拉利昂的旗帜形象

塞拉里昂

塞拉利昂是非洲面积最小的国家之一,城市人口为340万。UrbanShift在弗里敦和另外七个城市开展工作:西部地区、马克尼、科伊杜-新森贝洪、凯内马、博城、洛科港和邦特。

塞拉利昂的UrbanShift 项目是由世界银行与塞拉利昂政府、弗里敦市议会和其他参与的城市管理部门合作实施。 

塞拉利昂位于西非海岸,包含了广泛的生态系统,从低地平原到大草原,从红树林到雨林。上几内亚雨林横跨该国东部,已被确定为全球生物多样性热点。总体而言,该国三分之一的土地被森林覆盖

历史上,塞拉利昂的经济一直由钻石和黄金开采驱动。采矿业仍然是一个重要的部门,尽管农业构成了该国国内生产总值(GDP)的大部分。

自内战结束以来,塞拉利昂经历了强劲的经济增长,从2002年到2019年平均为5.5%,并导致了显著的减贫。然而,宏观经济因素加上暴露在与气候有关的危害下,有可能破坏迄今取得的进展。

塞拉利昂地图

面临的挑战   

在内战后的时代,塞拉利昂政府制定了到2035年实现中等收入水平的目标。尽管在建立一个稳定的、有竞争力的经济和改善数百万公民的生活条件方面取得了成果,但贫穷仍然在全国范围内普遍存在。

塞拉利昂在基本的基础设施和服务提供方面面临着巨大的缺口,预计到2040年,50%以上的人口将生活在城市地区,因此迫切需要解决基础设施的缺口。此外,现有的社会经济挑战因COVID-19大流行病而变得更加严重。  

气候变化和森林砍伐也给塞拉利昂的城市结构带来了严重风险。海平面上升、洪水、滑坡和干旱导致了生命和生计的丧失,公共和私人基础设施遭到破坏,农业生产下降,人口流离失所。与气候有关的事件还增加了霍乱等水传播疾病的可能性,进一步影响了人类健康。  

URBANSHIFT的参与  

世界银行和GEF 资助的塞拉利昂城市复原力项目(RUSLP)旨在改善大弗里敦地区和其他城市中心的综合城市管理、服务提供和灾害应急管理,即西部地区区、马克尼、科伊杜新森贝洪、凯内马、博城、洛科港和邦特。 

减少洪水和滑坡风险是RUSLP的优先事项,并将通过全面升级和缓解措施,混合灰色基础设施和基于自然的解决方案来实现。这些解决方案还将产生共同效益,如创造就业机会、增强生物多样性和更强大的生态系统服务。此外,该项目将支持旨在加强预警、应急准备和反应系统的活动。 

RUSLP将直接惠及大弗里敦(包括弗里敦和西部地区区)和另外六个城市的170万人口。该项目将从2021年6月至2026年6月实施。  

RUSLP的例子参与:  
  • 升级城市房产税管理和系统 

  • 提供基本的基础设施以改善生活条件 

  • 在目标流域上游和高坡地区扩大树木和植被覆盖率 

  • 具有适当基础设施的综合固体废物管理  

弗里敦,塞拉利昂
弗里敦,塞拉利昂。随机研究所/Unsplash。 

自由镇   

弗里敦是塞拉利昂的首都和最大的城市,位于塞拉利昂半岛上,沿大西洋海岸。该市拥有约100万居民,占总人口的12%。

作为塞拉利昂的主要商业港口,弗里敦的经济围绕贸易、采矿和农业展开,占国内生产总值的三分之一以上。由于地理因素和无计划的城市增长,弗里敦超过30%的建筑区由位于低洼地区的非正式定居点组成,容易发生洪水和滑坡。

根据RUSLP,弗里敦正在进行的植树活动 "弗里敦的弗里敦 "将被扩大规模,以恢复关键的天然森林覆盖,建立对洪水和山体滑坡的复原能力,并保护现有的基础设施。

西区 

西区覆盖了塞拉利昂半岛的南部地区。该区有450,000人,并在不断增长,预计到2030年将增长40%。该区包括郁郁葱葱的丘陵和陡峭的、被薄雾覆盖的山脉,包括一个大型国家公园,当地经济依赖于农业、渔业和林业。

马凯尼 

马克尼市有大约13万居民,是塞拉利昂北部省最大的城市中心。马克尼已经成为一个主要的教育中心,并拥有该国最大的私立大学和中学机构之一。  

RUSLP将对马克尼的中央市场进行全面升级,重点是改善商人的工作条件和刺激当地经济。  

科德鲁-新森贝洪 

科伊杜-新森贝洪位于东部省科诺区,约有13万人,该市的经济建立在大米、棕榈油和牲畜以及钻石开采上。

KENEMA 

凯内马是塞拉利昂的第三大城市,也是东部省最大的城市,人口约为206,000。农业、钻石开采和贸易构成了凯内马的主要经济支柱。近年来,凯内马经历了更加频繁和强烈的洪水,部分原因是气候变化以及城市快速发展造成的森林砍伐。

与马克尼的参与 ,RUSLP将致力于升级凯内马的中央市场,目的是刺激当地的金融活动,使市议会的收入增加。

淘宝网 

博城是塞拉利昂的第二大城市,有179,000人居住。博城位于南部省,在通往弗里敦和马克尼的公路交汇处,被认为是塞拉利昂内地的教育和商业中心。该市的主要经济支柱包括贸易、黄金和钻石开采以及可可、咖啡和棕榈油生产。

RUSLP将致力于改善亳州市的固体废物管理系统。 

LOKO港 

洛科港位于塞拉利昂的北部省,有44,000人口。洛科港居民的主要生计来源是农业和大米、木薯和红薯贸易。铝土矿和铁矿石的小规模开采也是该市及其周边地区的一项重要经济活动。快速的城市化和对木炭的需求是推动洛科港森林砍伐的原因。  

BONTHE 

邦特是塞拉利昂西南部的一个相对较小的港口城市,位于谢尔博岛的岸边。它有10,000人口,预计到2030年将增加50%。邦特的经济以棕榈果核、咖啡、生姜和大米的生产和贸易为主。曾经在谢尔博岛的小溪和河口大量存在的红树林的消失,对邦特及其周围的社区造成了灾难性的后果,使他们容易受到海平面上升和频繁的严重风暴的破坏。

Sierra Leone Banner Image

Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone is one of Africa’s smallest countries by size, with an urban population of 3.4 million. UrbanShift is engaged in Freetown and seven additional cities: Western Area District, Makeni, Koidu New Sembehun, Kenema, Bo, Port Loko and Bonthe.

The UrbanShift project in Sierra Leone is implemented by the World Bank in partnership with the Government of Sierra Leone, Freetown City Council, and other participating city administrations. 

Located on the coast of West Africa, Sierra Leone contains a vast range of ecosystems, from lowland plains to savannahs and mangroves to rainforests. The Upper Guinean Rainforest stretches across the eastern part of the country and has been identified as a global biodiversity hotspot. Overall, a third of the country is covered by forests.

Historically, Sierra Leone’s economy has been driven by diamond and gold mining. Mining is still an important sector, though agriculture constitutes the majority of the country’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

Sierra Leone has experienced strong economic growth since the end of the civil war, averaging 5.5% from 2002 to 2019 and resulting in notable poverty reduction. However, macroeconomic factors coupled with exposure to climate-related hazards can potentially undermine the progress made to date.

Sierra Leone Map

THE CHALLENGE   

In the post-civil war era, the government of Sierra Leone set the target of achieving middle-income status by 2035. Despite the gains that have been made in building a stable, competitive economy and improving living conditions for millions of citizens, poverty is still widespread across the country.

Sierra Leone faces a significant shortfall in basic infrastructure and service delivery, and with over 50% of the population expected to be living in urban areas by 2040, the need to address the infrastructure gap is urgent. In addition, existing socio-economic challenges have been exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic.  

Climate change and deforestation also pose a grave risk to the urban fabric of Sierra Leone. Sea level rise, floods, landslides and drought have led to loss of lives and livelihoods, damage to public and private infrastructure, decreased agricultural production, and population displacement. Climate-related events also increase the likelihood of waterborne diseases, such as cholera, further impacting human health.  

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION  

The World Bank and GEF-financed Resilient Urban Sierra Leone Project (RUSLP) aims to improve integrated urban management, service delivery and disaster emergency management in the Greater Freetown area and other urban centers, namely Western Area District, Makeni, Koidu New Sembehun, Kenema, Bo, Port Loko and Bonthe. 

Reducing flood and landslide risk is a priority for RUSLP and will be achieved through comprehensive upgrading and mitigation measures, mixing grey infrastructure and nature-based solutions. These solutions will also generate co-benefits, such as job creation, enhanced biodiversity, and more robust ecosystem services. Additionally, the project will support activities aimed at strengthening early warning, emergency preparedness and response systems. 

RUSLP will directly benefit 1.7 million people in Greater Freetown (which includes Freetown and the Western Area District) and the six additional cities. The project will be implemented from June 2021 - June 2026.  

Examples of RUSLP interventions:  
  • Upgrading the Urban Property Tax Administration and System 

  • Provision of basic infrastructure to improve living conditions 

  • Expanding tree and vegetation cover in targeted upper catchment and high slope areas 

  • Comprehensive solid waste management with the appropriate infrastructure  

Freetown, Sierra Leone
Freetown, Sierra Leone. Random Institute / Unsplash

FREETOWN   

Freetown, the capital and largest city of Sierra Leone, is located on the Sierra Leone peninsula, along the Atlantic coast. With approximately 1 million inhabitants, the city is home to 12% of the total population.

As Sierra Leone’s primary commercial port, Freetown’s economy revolves around trade, mining and agriculture and accounts for over a third of the GDP. Owing to geographical factors as well as unplanned urban growth, over 30% of Freetown’s built-up area consists of informal settlements situated in low-lying areas that are prone to flooding and landslides.

Under the RUSLP, Freetown’s ongoing tree-planting initiative “Freetown the Treetown” will be upscaled to restore critical natural forest cover, building resilience to floods and landslides and protecting existing infrastructure.

WESTERN AREA DISTRICT 

The Western Area District covers the southern part of the Sierra Leone peninsula. The district is home to 450,000 people and growing, with an expected increase of 40% by 2030. Encompassing lush hills and steep, mist-covered mountains, including a large national park, the district’s local economy is dependent on agriculture, fisheries and forestry.

MAKENI 

The city of Makeni, with a population of roughly 130,000 inhabitants, is the largest urban center in Sierra Leon’s Northern Province. Makeni has established itself as a major educational hub and houses one of the country’s largest private universities and secondary institutions.  

RUSLP will implement a comprehensive upgrade of central markets in Makeni, with a focus on improving working conditions for traders and stimulating the local economy.  

KOIDU NEW SEMBEHUN 

Koidu New Sembehun is located in the Eastern Province in the Kono District Home to approximately 130,000 people, the city’s economy is built on rice, palm oil and livestock, as well as diamond mining.

KENEMA 

Kenema is the third-largest city in Sierra Leone and the largest in the Eastern Province, with a population of roughly 206,000. Agriculture, diamond mining and trade form the mainstay of Kenema’s economy. In recent years, Kenema has been experiencing more frequent and intense floods, due in part to climate change as well as deforestation caused by rapid urban growth.

Similar to the intervention in Makeni, RUSLP will work to upgrade Kenema’s central market with the objective of spurring local financial activity and resulting in increased revenue for the city council.

BO 

Bo, the second-largest city in Sierra Leone, is home to 179,000 people. Located in the Southern Province at the intersection of the roads leading to Freetown and Makeni, Bo is considered the educational and commercial center of interior Sierra Leone. The city’s main economic pillars include trade, gold and diamond mining and the production of cacao, coffee, and palm oil.

RUSLP will aim to improve the solid waste management system in Bo city. 

PORT LOKO 

Situated in Sierra Leone’s Northern Province, Port Loko has a population of 44,000. The main source of livelihood for Port Loko residents is agriculture and the trade of rice, cassava, and sweet potato. Small-scale mining of bauxite and iron ore is also a key economic activity in and around the city. Rapid urbanization and the demand for charcoal has been responsible for driving deforestation in Port Loko.  

BONTHE 

Bonthe is a relatively small port city in southwestern Sierra Leone, located on the shore of Sherbo Island. It has a population of 10,000, which is expected to increase by 50% by 2030. Bonthe’s  economy is dominated by the production and trade of palm kernels, coffee, ginger and rice. The loss of mangrove forests, once found in abundance in the creeks and estuaries of Sherbo Island, has had disastrous consequences on the communities in and around Bonthe, leaving them vulnerable to the destruction caused by sea-level rise and frequent, severe storms.  

PROJECT BUDGET  

Total GEF Grant: $56.73 million