中国旗帜图片2

中国

中国拥有14亿人口,是世界上人口最多的国家和第二大经济体。UrbanShift在中国的三个城市和一个城市群开展业务:成都、重庆、宁波和成渝经济圈。

中国的UrbanShift 项目是由世界银行与国家发展和改革委员会下属的中国城市发展中心(CCUD)合作实施。城市合作伙伴包括成都 市人民政府、重庆 市人民政府和宁波 市人民政府。

作为地球上面积第四大的国家,中国广阔的地形拥有令人震惊的各种生态系统,从山脉和沙漠到热带海岸线和高山森林。作为17个巨型多样化国家之一,中国拥有地球上所有动植物的近10%和14%,包括受威胁的物种,如穿山甲、雪豹和喜马拉雅棕熊等。 

在过去的几十年里,中国已经从农业经济转变为以制造业和服务业为基础的经济,其144亿美元的国内生产总值(2019年)中超过90%由第二和第三产业部门主导。该国的快速工业化伴随着城市化的相应增长;今天,超过60%的人口居住在城市,而在20世纪70年代末,这一比例还不到18%。由于这种前所未有的经济和城市增长,中国在1981年至2004年期间使超过6亿人摆脱了贫困。

面临的挑战  

虽然城市化和工业化为中国和全球经济带来了不可否认的收益,但它们也付出了环境代价。中国是世界上最大的碳排放国,中国城市一直遵循能源和土地密集型的增长模式。这导致了令人警醒的城市空气污染、土地退化、生态系统分裂、生物多样性丧失、水体污染和水资源匮乏等问题。不可持续的增长也使中国城市特别容易受到气候变化的影响,沿海、河流和山洪的发生率以及热带气旋的频率和影响都在加强。

中国政府认识到恢复和维持自然平衡的重要性,正在采取措施,确保未来的经济增长在地球范围内进行。2020年9月,中国宣布将在2030年前实现碳达峰,在2060年前实现碳中和。此外,《国家新型城镇化规划》已将国家的增长轨迹从关注国内生产总值(GDP)转向高质量发展。  

URBANSHIFT的参与 

UrbanShfit在中国的首要任务是支持参与城市实现碳中和,并增强城市复原力。我们的目标是通过制定高质量的绿色和低碳发展指标框架,实施基于自然的解决方案(NbS)和城市生物多样性战略,以及在城市层面将促进气候的综合城市规划和管理纳入主流。  

例子: 

  • 绘制城市自然资产和生态系统服务图 
  • 将NbS和生物多样性保护纳入投资,如河流的生态堤坝和湿地保护。 
  • 为制定碳中和路线图提供全面的技术支持 
  • 将低碳选择纳入城市复兴投资,如面向交通的发展(TOD)和性别平等的社区 
  • 创建一个数据共享平台,支持绿色和低碳发展的高质量指标框架 
中国,成都(Shu Qian / Unsplash)
中国,成都 Shu Qian / Unsplash

成都

作为中国四川省的省会,成都位于亚洲最长的河流——长江的平原上,拥有超过2000万居民。成都其繁荣的经济是由制造业和技术驱动的。该市还迅速确立了自己作为中国西部创意和文化中心的地位,并以其大熊猫保护区而闻名。 

据预测,到2035年,成都的人口将增长800-1000万。为了更好地吸收这一大规模的增长,该市已经实施了 "公园城市 "战略,挑战传统的城市发展规范,在公园中创造城市。公园城市的概念将城市设想为一个蓝色和绿色空间的网络,保护生物多样性,减少能源消耗,并为居民提供更好的城市服务。这个概念是对成都的脱碳战略以及该市2016-2035年城市发展计划的补充。 

URBANSHIFT的参与 

成都拥有多样化的湿地系统,在保护城市水资源和生物多样性方面发挥着至关重要的作用。UrbanShift 将支持成都以湿地为重点,绘制其自然资产图,并让私营部门参与其中,为绿色投资提供资金。项目还将支持与大熊猫保护区和其他国家公园的生态连接,并为长江的重要支流沱江流域制定一个综合管理战略。 

重庆中国
中国,重庆  Michael Gwyther-Jones / Flickr

重庆 

位于长江岸边的重庆 ,是中国西南部的主要贸易和交通枢纽。它也是世界上最大的巨型城市之一,拥有超过3017万居民。  

虽然汽车工业一直是重庆的经济支柱,但该市最近实施了高质量的发展战略,重点是创新、研究和传统产业的智能转型。  

重庆目前面临两个主要的发展挑战:鉴于其丘陵地形,只有6%的平地适合城市的空间扩张;该市还极易发生水灾。2020年,暴雨导致长江泛滥,造成至少260亿美元的损失,重庆周围影响社区被迫搬迁。 

URBANSHIFT的参与 

在重庆,UrbanShfit将致力于改善璧山区城市扩张的影响,通过生态规划和基于自然的解决方案改善其空间发展战略。 同时,该项目将支持历史悠久的渝中区开创一个综合能源管理系统。 

宁波 中国
中国,宁波 Megan Eaves / Flickr

宁波 

宁波位于浙江省东北部长江三角洲的一个低洼沿海平原,自唐代以来一直是一个重要的港口城市,是世界上最大的国际港口之一(按货物吨位计算)。  

出口在宁波的经济增长中发挥了重要作用。今天,该市拥有一个更加多样化的经济结构,包括提供物流、金融和电子商务服务。

宁波遭受台风和洪水的影响,每年都会造成严重的经济损失,并经常使城市陷入停滞状态。此外,由于宁波的能源密集型出口行业,该市的人均碳排放量为15.5吨,是全国平均水平的两倍。因此,经济增长和能源使用脱钩是宁波的优先事项。 

URBANSHIFT的参与 

UrbanShift将支持宁波制定一个全市性的生物多样性战略,包括自然栖息地的恢复和湿地保护。我们还将通过自然资本会计系统和基于自然的解决方案提供生态空间规划支持。此外,该项目将在海曙区选定的社区推广改造计划,并帮助建立一个碳排放监测和指标体系,以促进零碳发展。 

成渝经济圈(CCEC) 

成都-重庆经济圈是中国雄心勃勃的经济蓝图,以加速西部欠发达地区的增长。它包括31个城市和113个小城镇和县城,占全国总土地面积的1.9%。2019年,经济圈的常住人口约为9600万,国内生产总值为9847亿美元。

CCEC是国家政府努力发展经济强劲的城市群的重要组成部分,并为在更大范围内展示绿色、低碳的城市增长提供了机会。对成都-重庆 地区的交通基础设施进行投资是CCEC的一个特别优先事项。  

URBANSHIFT的参与 

由于CCEC是一个新形成的集聚区,UrbanShift将通过在成都和重庆开展工作,支持该地区的生态连接和恢复计划。 

我们还将为CCEC制定一个生物多样性和塑料废物管理战略,并帮助制定一个协调的区域碳排放峰值和中和的方法。 

项目预算 

  • GEF 赠款:2,691万美元 
  • 共同出资:3.0014亿美元

China Banner Image 2

China

With a population of 1.4 billion, China is the most populous country in the world and the second-largest economy. UrbanShift is engaged in three cities and one city cluster in China: Chengdu, Chongqing, Ningbo, and Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Circle.

The UrbanShift project in China is implemented by the World Bank in partnership with the China Center for Urban Development (CCUD) under the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC). City partners include the People’s Government of Chengdu Municipality, People’s Government of Chongqing Municipality, and People’s Government of Ningbo Municipality.

As the fourth largest country on the planet by area, China’s vast terrain is home to an astounding variety of ecosystems, from mountains and deserts to tropical coastlines and alpine forests. As one of 17 megadiverse countries, China harbors nearly 10% and 14% of all flora and fauna on Earth, including threatened species such as the pangolin, snow leopard, and Himalayan brown bear. 

Over the past few decades, China has transformed from an agrarian to a manufacturing and services-based economy, with over 90% of its $14.4 billion GDP (2019) dominated by the secondary and tertiary sectors. The rapid industrialization of the country has been accompanied by a corresponding increase in urbanization; today, over 60% of the population resides in cities, compared to under 18% in the late 1970s. Owing to this unprecedented economic and urban growth, China lifted more than 600 million people out of poverty between 1981 and 2004.  

THE CHALLENGE  

While urbanization and industrialization have generated undeniable gains for China and the global economy, they have come at an environmental cost. China is the world’s largest emitter of carbon, and Chinese cities have followed energy- and land-intensive growth patterns. This has resulted in alarming levels of urban air pollution, land degradation, ecosystem fragmentation, loss of biodiversity, contamination of water bodies, and water scarcity. Unsustainable growth has also made Chinese cities particularly vulnerable to climate change, with incidences of coastal, riverine and flash flooding as well as tropical cyclones intensifying in frequency and impact.

Recognizing the importance of restoring and maintaining the balance of nature, the Chinese government is taking steps to ensure future economic growth takes place within planetary boundaries. In September 2020, China announced that it will achieve carbon peaking by 2030 and carbon neutrality by 2060. In addition, the National New-Type Urbanization Plan has pivoted the country’s growth trajectory from a focus on gross domestic product (GDP) to high-quality development.  

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

The priority for UrbanShift in China is to support participating cities in achieving carbon neutrality and enhanced urban resilience. We aim to achieve this by developing a high-quality indicator framework on green and low-carbon development, implementing nature-based solutions (NbS) and urban biodiversity strategies, and mainstreaming climate-responsive, integrated urban planning and management at the city level.  

Examples: 

  • Mapping urban natural assets and ecosystem services 
  • Incorporating NbS and biodiversity conservation into investments, such as eco-embankment of rivers and wetland preservation 
  • Providing comprehensive technical support to develop carbon neutrality roadmaps 
  • Integrating low-carbon options into urban regeneration investments, such as transit-oriented development (TOD) and gender-equitable neighborhoods 
  • Creating a data-sharing platform to support the high-quality indicator framework on green and low-carbon development 
Chengdu, China. Shu Qian / Unsplash.
Chengdu, China. Shu Qian / Unsplash.

CHENGDU

The capital of China’s Sichuan Province, Chengdu is located on the plains of the Yangtze, Asia’s longest river, and has a population of over 20 million inhabitants. Chengdu’s thriving economy is driven by manufacturing and technology. The city is also quickly establishing itself as the creative and cultural heart of western China, and is famed for its giant panda reserve. 

Chengdu’s population is predicted to grow by 8-10 million by 2035. To better absorb this massive increase, the city has put into place a “Park City” strategy, challenging traditional urban development norms to create cities within parks. The Park City concept envisions the city as a network of blue and green spaces that protect biodiversity, reduce energy consumption, and provide enhanced urban services to residents. The concept complements Chengdu’s decarbonization strategy as well as the city’s 2016-2035 urban development plan. 

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

Chengdu hosts a diverse wetland system, which plays a crucial role in protecting the city’s water resources and biodiversity. UrbanShift will support Chengdu to map its natural assets, with a focus on wetlands, and involve the private sector to finance green investments. Our project will also support ecological connectivity with the panda reserve and other national parks, and formulate an integrated management strategy for the Tuojiang River Basin, an important tributary of the Yangtze. 

Chongqing, China
Chongqing, China. Michael Gwyther-Jones / Flickr.

CHONGQING 

Perched on the shores of the Yangtze River, Chongqing is southwestern China’s primary trade and transportation hub. It is also one of the world’s largest megacities, with over 30.17 million inhabitants.  

While the automobile industry has been the backbone of Chongqing’s economy, the city has recently implemented a high-quality development strategy, focused on innovation, research, and the intelligent transformation of traditional industries.  

Chongqing currently faces two main development challenges – given its hilly topography, only 6% of flat land is suitable for spatial urban expansion. The city is also highly prone to flooding; in 2020, torrential rains caused the Yangtze to overflow, resulting in the loss of at least $26 billion and many communities displaced in and around Chongqing. 

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

In Chongqing, UrbanShift will work to ameliorate the impacts of urban sprawl in Bishan District, improving its spatial development strategy through ecological planning and nature-based solutions.  At the same time, the project will support the historical Yuzhong District in pioneering an integrated energy management system. 

Ningbo China
Ningbo, China. Megan Eaves / Flickr. 

NINGBO 

Situated in a low-lying coastal plain of the Yangtze River Delta in northeast Zhejiang Province, Ningbo has been an important port city since the Tang Dynasty and is one of the world’s largest international ports by cargo tonnage.  

Exports have played a major role in the growth of Ningbo’s economy. Today, the city possesses a more diversified economic structure, including the provision of logistics, finance and e-commerce services.

Ningbo suffers from typhoons and flooding on an annual basis, resulting in severe economic damages and routinely bringing the city to a standstill. Moreover, due to Ningbo’s energy-intensive export industry, the city’s per capita carbon emission is 15.5 tons – double the national average. Hence, decoupling economic growth and energy use is a priority in Ningbo. 

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

UrbanShift will support Ningbo to develop a city-wide biodiversity strategy, including natural habitat rehabilitation and wetland protection. We’ll also provide ecological spatial planning support through natural capital accounting systems and nature-based solutions. Additionally, the project will promote retrofit schemes in selected communities within Haishu District and help create a carbon emissions monitoring and indicator system to facilitate zero-carbon development. 

CHENGDU-CHONGQING ECONOMIC CIRCLE (CCEC) 

The Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Circle is China’s ambitious economic blueprint to accelerate growth in the less developed western region. It includes 31 cities and 113 small towns and counties and makes up 1.9% of the country's total land area. In 2019, the economic circle had a permanent population of around 96 million and a GDP of $984.7 billion.

The CCEC is a vital part of the national government’s efforts to develop economically robust urban agglomerations and presents an opportunity to demonstrate green, low-carbon urban growth at a wider scale. Investing in transport infrastructure for the Chengdu-Chongqing region is a particular priority of the CCEC.  

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

As the CCEC is a newly formed agglomeration, UrbanShift will support the region’s ecological connectivity and restoration plans by building on the interventions in Chengdu and Chongqing. 

We’ll also formulate a biodiversity and plastic waste management strategy for the CCEC, and help develop a coordinated regional approach to carbon emissions peaking and neutrality. 

PROJECT BUDGET 

  • GEF Grant:  $26.91 million 
  • Co-financing: $300.14 million