巴西横幅图片

巴西

巴西是地球上生物多样性最丰富的国家,也是第六大人口大国。在其2.12亿的居民中,87%居住在城市地区。UrbanShift支持巴西的三个城市开展工作:贝伦、弗洛里亚诺波利斯和特雷西纳。

巴西的UrbanShift 项目由联合国环境规划署实施,由科学、技术和创新部(MCTI)通过CITinova II项目执行,并与管理和战略研究中心(CGEE)、巴西生物多样性基金(FUNBIO)和联合国环境规划署巴西办事处合作。 

巴西是南美洲最大的国家,也是世界上面积第五大的国家,拥有60%以上的亚马逊雨林。它还拥有其他五个重要的自然生物群落--卡廷加、塞拉多、大西洋森林、潘塔纳尔和潘帕,为该国无与伦比的生物多样性做出贡献。 

巴西的生物群落提供了重要的生态系统服务,巴西的经济在很大程度上依赖于这些服务;它们还有助于缓和环境条件,减轻干旱和洪水,保护土壤免受侵蚀。该国有1600多个保护区,占其大陆领土的16%,占海洋生境的0.5%。 

巴西在2003年至2014年期间取得了令人震惊的经济和社会进步,使2900万人摆脱了贫困。然而,随后几年笼罩该国的金融危机,以及COVID-19大流行病造成的破坏,深深影响了低收入和弱势人群,逆转了早期的一些成就。 

巴西地图

面临的挑战  

自20世纪70年代初以来,巴西已经巩固了自己作为一个城市国家的地位,这在很大程度上是由于农村移民在快速增长的城市中心寻找就业和机会。目前,近87%的人口居住在城市地区,而这些地区只占全国领土的0.31%。 

这种前所未有的城市扩张造成了巴西城市的一系列紧迫问题:例如,42%的城市居民缺乏适当的卫生和排污设施,导致水体污染和水传播疾病的增加。巴西也是该地区机动车化率最高的国家之一,这导致了城市空气质量的严重下降。在全国范围内,估计每年有近5万人的死亡可归因于空气污染和温室气体(GHG)排放。 

此外,该国正在以惊人的速度失去亚马逊的原始雨林,这主要是由于对森林的非法和不可持续的开采。亚马逊城市的横向增长也给周围的绿色区域带来压力。这不仅威胁到当地的气候,也威胁到全球的气候,巴西的大都市已经在努力应对其后果--海平面上升、暴风雨、更强烈和频繁的热浪和野火。

URBANSHIFT的参与 

UrbanShift的目标是支持巴西大都市地区减少温室气体排放,保护生物多样性,增强复原力,并提高所有居民的生活质量。我们旨在通过促进综合大都市规划和城市技术投资来实现这一目标,例如,通过SIS+(可持续城市规划的创新和解决方案系统)。SIS+平台将为城市从业者提供地理空间和技术数据,以帮助设计综合和可持续的城市解决方案;它还将协助地方政府确定创新解决方案和财政资源,以实施城市项目 。你可以在下面找到当地参与的具体例子:

巴西贝伦
巴西,贝伦 Daniel Zanini H / Flickr 

贝伦大都会区 

贝伦大都会区(Belem MR)位于亚马逊雨林北部的大西洋沿岸,是该国第11大城市地区,也是巴西亚马逊地区的主要经济中心之一。 

贝伦由七个市镇组成,被认为是通往亚马逊的门户。在20世纪60-70年代,随着连接贝伦和首都巴西利亚的BR316公路的建设,该市的人口急剧增加。今天,在当地采矿、能源和农业部门的推动下,贝伦继续增长。这种快速增长,加上城市规划不足,导致了周围雨林的严重退化,尽管该地区享有高度的环境保护。 

贝伦将得到UrbanShift 的支持,在Almirante Barroso大道上共同创建和试点低排放解决方案,并为 "低排放的贝伦市中心 "制定战略。我 们还将努力改善康布岛的可持续农林做法,提高当地社区的生计选择。  

弗洛里亚诺波利斯大都会区 

大弗洛里亚诺波利斯大都会区(Florianópolis MR)由9个城市组成,位于巴西东南部的海岸,在大西洋森林内。 

弗洛里亚诺波利斯拥有120万人口,是巴西发展最快的经济中心之一,受到当地工业、专业服务部门以及大学、孵化器和智囊团的大力推动。 

弗洛里亚诺波利斯市所在的圣卡塔琳娜岛,也是一个重要的旅游目的地。然而,该地区以受保护的塔布莱罗山(Serra do Tabuleiro)为主的崎岖地形,限制了可用于进一步发展的土地数量,将城市发展推向低洼地区和海岸线。  

UrbanShift 我们将支持弗洛里亚诺波利斯市通过制定社会环境宏观规划和在卡波耶拉斯区试行低排放街区来加强综合规划。我 们还将在Pirajubae海洋开采保护区和Carijós生态站启动投资项目 ,展示衡量城市保护区健康状况的方法,并促进基于社区的保护。 

大泰西纳综合发展区 

大特雷西纳综合发展区(RIDE)位于巴西最贫穷和最温暖的地区之一,由15个城市组成,横跨两个联邦州:马拉尼奥和皮奥伊。这两个州的人均GDP在全国最低,仅相当于全国GDP的2.1%,而特雷西纳37%的居民生活在贫困线以下。  

RIDE的人口增加--主要由来自周围农村地区的移民组成--加上低的市政收入和有限的市政能力,管理跨越两个联邦州的聚集区的困难,以及炎热、恶劣的气候,给该地区带来了一系列重叠的问题。这些挑战包括空气、水和土壤污染,城市无序扩张,以及相对于公共交通而言私人车辆的使用增加。 

RIDE将得到UrbanShift 的支持,使该地区对性别问题有敏感认识的城市间治理和管理进程,以及在特雷西纳中心的低排放城市街区试点解决方案。 

项目预算 

  • GEF 拨款总额:1260万美元
  • 共同融资:1.85亿美元

Brazil Banner Image

Brazil

Brazil is the most biologically diverse country on the planet and the sixth most populous. Of its 212 million inhabitants, 87% reside in urban areas. UrbanShift supports three cities in Brazil: Belém, Florianópolis and Teresina.

The UrbanShift project in Brazil is implemented by UNEP and executed by the Ministry of Science, Technology, and Innovation (MCTI), in partnership with the Center for Management and Strategic Studies (CGEE), the Brazilian Biodiversity Fund (FUNBIO) and UNEP Brazil. 

The largest country in South America and the fifth-largest in the world by area, Brazil harbors over 60% of the Amazon rainforest. It’s also home to five other important natural biomes – Caatinga, Cerrado, the Atlantic Forest, Pantanal and the Pampa, contributing to the country’s unparalleled biodiversity. 

Brazil’s biomes provide vital ecosystem services upon which the Brazilian economy is heavily reliant; they also serve to moderate environmental conditions, mitigating droughts and floods and protecting soils from erosion. The country has over 1,600 protected areas, which represent 16% of its continental territory and 0.5% of the marine habitat. 

Brazil made astounding economic and social progress between 2003 and 2014, lifting 29 million people out of poverty. However, the financial crisis that gripped the country in subsequent years, as well as the devastation caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, has deeply impacted lower-income and vulnerable populations, reversing some of the earlier successes. 

Brazil map

THE CHALLENGE  

Since the early 1970s, Brazil has consolidated itself as an urban country, driven to a great extent by rural migrants looking for employment and opportunities in fast-growing urban centers. Currently, nearly 87% of the population resides in urban areas, which represent only 0.31% of the national territory. 

This unprecedented urban expansion has contributed to a range of pressing problems in Brazilian cities: for instance, 42% of urban residents lack access to proper sanitation and sewage facilities, leading to the contamination of water bodies and an increase in waterborne diseases. Brazil also has one of the highest motorization rates in the region, which has caused a serious decline in urban air quality. Nationwide, it is estimated that nearly 50,000 deaths per year can be attributed to air pollution and greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. 

In addition, the country is losing primary rainforest in the Amazon at an alarming rate, mainly due to illegal and unsustainable exploitation of the forest. The horizontal growth of Amazon cities is also putting pressure on surrounding green areas. This threatens not only local but global climate, and the Brazilian metropolises are already grappling with the consequences – sea level rise, torrential storms, more intense and frequent heat waves and wildfires.

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

UrbanShift’s objective is to support Brazilian metropolitan regions to reduce GHG emissions, conserve biodiversity, bolster resilience, and improve quality of life for all residents. We aim to achieve this objective through promoting integrated metropolitan planning and urban technology investments, for e.g., through the SIS+ (System of Innovations and Solutions for Sustainable Urban Planning). The SIS+ platform will provide urban practitioners with geospatial and technical data to help design integrated and sustainable urban solutions; it will also assist local governments in identifying innovative solutions and financial resources to implement city projects. You can find specific examples of the local interventions below. 

Belém, Brazil
Belém, Brazil. Daniel Zanini H / Flickr.​​​

BELÉM METROPOLITAN REGION 

Located in the northern reaches of the Amazon rainforest along the Atlantic coast, the Belém Metropolitan Region (Belem MR) is the 11th largest urban area in the country3 and one of the primary economic centers of the Brazilian Amazon. 

Consisting of seven municipalities, Belém is considered the gateway to the Amazon. The city witnessed a sharp increase in population in the 1960s-70s, following the construction of the BR 316 Highway, which connected Belém with the capital, Brasília. Today, Belém continues to grow, fuelled by the local mining, energy and agricultural sectors. This rapid growth, coupled with insufficient urban planning, has resulted in significant degradation of the surrounding rainforest, despite the high degree of environmental protection the region enjoys. 

Belém will receive support from UrbanShift to co-create and pilot low-emission solutions on the Almirante Barroso Avenue and to develop a strategy for a “Low-Emission Belém City-Center". We’ll also work to improve sustainable agroforestry practices on Combú Island, enhancing livelihood options for local communities.  

FLORIANOPOLIS METROPOLITAN REGION 

The Metropolitan Region of Greater Florianópolis (Florianópolis MR) is composed of nine municipalities and is located on the coast of south-eastern Brazil, within the Atlantic Forest. 

With a population of 1.2 million, Florianópolis is one of Brazil’s fastest growing economic centers, spurred by local industry, a specialized service sector, and the strong presence of universities, incubators and think tanks. 

Santa Catarina Island, where the city of Florianópolis is situated, is also an important tourist destination. However, the rugged terrain of the area, dominated by the protected Serra do Tabuleiro mountains, constrains the amount of land available for further development, pushing urban growth towards low-lying areas and the coastline.  

UrbanShift will support Florianópolis to strengthen integrated planning through the development of socio-environmental macro-zoning and the piloting of a low-emission neighborhood in the district of Capoeiras. We’ll also be initiating investment projects in the Pirajubae Marine Extractive Reserve and Carijós Ecological Station, demonstrating methodologies that measure the health of urban protected areas and foster community-based conservation. 

GREATER TERESINA INTEGRATED DEVELOPMENT REGION 

Located in one of the poorest and warmest regions of Brazil, the Greater Teresina Integrated Development Region (RIDE) is composed of 15 municipalities cutting across two federal states, Maranhao and Piauí. These two states have the lowest GDP per capita in the country, corresponding to just 2.1% of the national GDP, while 37% of Teresina’s residents live under the poverty line.  

The increase in population in the RIDE – primarily comprised of migrants from the surrounding rural areas – combined with low municipal income and limited municipal capacity, the difficulties of managing an agglomeration across two federal states, and the hot, harsh climate, have created an overlapping series of problems for the region. These challenges include air, water and soil pollution, urban sprawl, and the increased use of private vehicles relative to public transport. 

The RIDE will receive support from UrbanShift in enabling gender-sensitive inter-municipal governance and management processes for the region, as well as piloting solutions for a low-emission city block in Teresina’s center. 

PROJECT BUDGET 

  • Total GEF Grant: $12.6 million
  • Co-Financing: $185 million