阿根廷横幅图片

阿根廷

作为南美最大的经济体之一,阿根廷拥有4540万人口,其中92%生活在城市地区。UrbanShift 在阿根廷的五个城市开展业务:布宜诺斯艾利斯、马德普拉塔、门多萨、萨尔塔和乌斯怀亚。 

阿根廷的UrbanShift 项目是由联合国环境规划署(UNEP)与环境和可持续发展部(MAyDS)合作实施。 

阿根廷占据南美洲南部的广阔土地,是南美洲第二大经济体,国内生产总值(GDP)约为4500亿美元。该国拥有丰富的自然资源,是牛肉和谷物生产的领导者。阿根廷也是一个受欢迎的探险旅游目的地,并拥有一个极具竞争力的IT行业。  

阿根廷独特的生态和地理多样性体现在其18个 "生态区",从亚热带到南极区,从美洲最高的山脉到大西洋深处。其中8个生态区已被列为全球保护的最优先事项之一。目前,阿根廷国家领土的11.6%得到了保护。

阿根廷国家地图

面临的挑战

阿根廷是世界上城市化程度最高的国家之一,92%的人口集中在城市。波动的经济增长导致财富分配高度不均,特别是在城市;2021年初,阿根廷的城市贫困率达到40.6%。 

随着阿根廷城市群面积的不断扩大,经济和社会隔离预计将加深,导致城市无序扩张,非正式定居点和有门的社区增加。尽管努力改善公共交通和促进非机动车交通,但地方决策者在减少私人车辆的使用方面面临困难。  

同时,阿根廷的城市和保护区之间的中位数距离正在缩小,威胁着农业用地、森林、湿地和其他自然区域的生物多样性和生态系统功能。 

阿根廷还面临着一些自然灾害,如洪水、极端高温、野火和强降水,预计这些灾害将随着气候变化而恶化。洪水约占该国自然灾害的60%,给受灾人口,特别是沿海城市的脆弱社区造成巨大的经济损失。 

UrbanShift我们的目标是加速阿根廷城市的绿色增长,减少温室气体排放和土地退化,保护生物多样性。我们的目标是通过加强地方和省级数据平台;支持对生态旅游、密集化和低碳发展的投资;以及展示城市绿色区域的财政可持续性来实现这一目标。你可以在下面找到我们城市项目 的具体例子。

布宜诺斯艾利斯,阿根廷
布宜诺斯艾利斯。Fermin Rodriguez Penelas / Unsplash.

布宜诺斯艾利斯

布宜诺斯艾利斯自治市(CABA)是阿根廷最大的城市中心,拥有289万人口,另外每天有300万通勤者从布宜诺斯艾利斯都市区(AMBA)进入该市。 

根据《2019年植被报告》和最近对该市生物走廊的研究,布宜诺斯艾利斯市有30.4%的地区保留了植被,支撑着各种不同的植物、鸟类和其他物种。  

CABA推动雄心勃勃的环境和气候行动,特别是针对能源效率、城市交通、城市绿化和城市填充,将其定位为阿根廷最重要的气候冠军。例如,《绿色布宜诺斯艾利斯计划》(2014年)旨在确保该市多达96%的居民能在30米范围内获得绿色空间。  

尽管做出了这些努力,布宜诺斯艾利斯仍与空气质量差、高温、道路拥挤和城市及周边地区的生物多样性丧失作斗争。 

URBANSHIFT的参与 

为了帮助CABA克服这些挑战,UrbanShift ,将支持制定一个战略愿景和路线图,在布宜诺斯艾利斯大都会区(AMBA)建立一个相互连接的、综合的、低排放的绿色走廊系统。这些走廊将通过一个包容的、对性别和多样性敏感的共同创造过程,包括对当地动植物的基础研究,在该市南部的低收入地区进行试点。 

MAR DEL PLATA 

马德普拉塔是阿根廷第七大城市和最受欢迎的海滨度假胜地。在夏季高峰期,马德普拉塔的人口从65万猛增到近120万。大量游客的涌入给城市服务带来了巨大的压力,如交通、水、能源和废物管理。   

马德普拉塔位于一个重要的观鸟区内,靠近马奇基塔省级自然保护区。该市的战略计划 "马德普拉塔2030 "为城市发展提供了一系列目标,包括建立绿化带以遏制城市扩张。但是,尽管旅游业是马德普拉塔最主要的经济部门,该市却缺乏一个连贯的计划来分散旅游业,并促进加强生物多样性保护和有效土地管理的做法。 

URBANSHIFT的参与 

UrbanShift 将支持马德普拉塔制定一个2050年的可持续旅游计划,通过对旅游业的综合管理确保环境和城市的长期可持续性。在其他参与 ,保护性旅游的投资将在Laguna de los Padres和Mar Chiquita生物圈保护区及其周围进行试点。 

门多萨,阿根廷
门多萨。Miguel / Flickr. 

门多萨 (MENDOZA)

门多萨大都会区(AMM)是阿根廷西部城市化程度最高的地区。由拉斯赫拉斯、门多萨首府、盖马伦、戈多伊-克鲁斯、迈普和卢汉-德库约等城市组成,预计2016年至2030年期间,AMM的人口将增加近20%。 

门多萨位于安第斯山脉的山麓,在美洲最高峰阿空加瓜山的东部。大都会区和该省主要以葡萄酒和橄榄油生产而闻名,旅游业也在萌芽中。然而,门多萨不断增长的人口正在加剧对首都城市中心的需求。再加上缺乏透明的发展数据,人口压力正导致整个AMM地区的不连贯的扩张,并导致周围安第斯山脉山地的土地退化和生物多样性丧失。  

URBANSHIFT的参与 

UrbanShift 将支持门多萨大都会区加强省级和市级数字平台,纳入地理空间信息和可持续性指标,以促进综合城市规划。该项目还将在门多萨市中心试行 "可持续的超级街区",优先考虑非机动车交通,通过循环经济方法加强废物管理,并提高建筑和基础设施的能源效率。这些参与 ,将展示一个紧凑、低排放的城市中心的社会、环境和经济效益。 

サイト 

萨尔塔大都会区位于温暖干燥的萨尔塔省北部,被永加斯生物圈保护区的亚热带山林所包围。永加斯代表了阿根廷最丰富的生态系统之一,是该国近50%的生物多样性的所在地。 

萨尔塔的经济主要基于农业、矿业、制造业和旅游业。在过去20年里,该市经历了阿根廷最高的人口增长,以及广泛的城市扩张;预计到2030年,萨尔塔的人口将从2010年的略高于50万增加到90万居民。 

这种快速增长给城市基础设施带来了相关的压力,特别是在供水、排水和流动性方面。萨尔塔正在努力向更加平衡的交通系统过渡,改善公共汽车服务和自行车设施,并规划未来的公共汽车快速交通(BRT)走廊。 

URBANSHIFT的参与 

UrbanShift 将支持萨尔塔大都会区的城市发展一个以交通为导向的低排放绿色走廊系统,旨在促进公共和非机动车交通、生态连接和改善资源管理。在其他参与 ,萨尔塔-拉斯永加斯保护伙伴关系将通过生产和销售本地商品,如手工艺品、本地水果和拉斯永加斯地区的小农商品,促进生物多样性的可持续利用。 

乌斯怀亚,阿根廷
乌斯怀亚。Juan Pablo Mascanfroni / Unsplash.

USHUAIA

乌斯怀亚被称为世界上最南端的城市,是阿根廷最孤立和人口稀少的火地岛省的首府。该市位于著名的比格尔海峡沿岸,经济活动以渔业、石油和天然气开采以及旅游业为中心。  

乌斯怀亚的人口在过去十年(2010-2020年)增加了35%以上。人口增长,加上寒冷的气候、隔热性能差的房屋和高额的天然气补贴,对该市的能源供应压力越来越大;乌斯怀亚的平均住宅能耗是布宜诺斯艾利斯的12倍。  

在缺乏综合可持续发展计划的情况下,乌斯怀亚正面临着一些城市管理方面的挑战,包括规划不完善的新社区、对重要自然区域的侵占以及严重缺乏的公共交通系统。 

URBANSHIFT的参与 

UrbanShift 将支持乌斯怀亚制定 "可持续的乌斯怀亚2050 "战略计划,通过参与性和对性别问题有敏感认识的过程,让地方和省政府以及其他主要利益相关者参与进来。还将在乌斯怀亚和火地岛国家公园试行一项保护性旅游和社会发展计划,包括一个生物多样性监测系统、修复和加强市政步道网络的活动、保护性旅游导游的培训计划以及野火的早期探测系统。  

 

项目预算 

  • GEF 拨款总额:2350万美元 
  • 共同融资。1.84亿美元

Argentina Banner Image

Argentina

One of the largest economies in South America, Argentina is home to 45.4 million people, of which 92% live in urban areas. UrbanShift is engaged in five cities in Argentina: Buenos Aires, Mar del Plata, Mendoza, Salta and Ushuaia. 

The UrbanShift project in Argentina is implemented by the UN Environment Programme (UNEP) in partnership with the Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development (MAyDS). 

Occupying a vast expanse in the southern portion of South America, Argentina has the second largest economy on the continent, with a Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of approximately $450 billion. The country is endowed with rich natural resources and is a leader in the production of beef and cereals. Argentina is also a popular destination for adventure tourism and has a highly competitive IT sector.  

Argentina’s unique ecological and geographic diversity is reflected in its 18 “eco-regions,” which range from sub-tropical to Antarctic zones, the tallest mountains in the Americas to the depths of the Atlantic Ocean. Eight of these eco-regions have been classified among the highest priorities for global conservation. Currently, 11.6% of Argentinian national territory is protected. 

Argentina Country Map

THE CHALLENGE

Argentina is one of the most urbanized countries in the world, with 92% of the population concentrated in cities. Volatile economic growth has led to a highly uneven distribution of wealth, particularly in cities; urban poverty in Argentina reached 40.6% in the early part of 2021. 

As urban agglomerations in Argentina continue to expand in area, economic and social segregation is projected to deepen, contributing to urban sprawl and an increase in informal settlements as well as gated communities. Despite efforts to improve public transport and promote non-motorized transport, local decisionmakers face difficulties in reducing the usage of private vehicles.  

Meanwhile, median distances between Argentina’s urban and protected areas are narrowing, threatening the biodiversity and ecosystem functions of agricultural land, forests, wetlands, and other natural areas. 

Argentina is also exposed to several natural hazards, such as flooding, extreme heat, wildfires and intense precipitation, predicted to worsen with climate change. Floods account for about 60% of natural disasters in the country, causing huge economic losses for affected populations, especially vulnerable communities in coastal cities. 

UrbanShift's objective is to accelerate green growth in Argentinian cities, reducing greenhouse gas emissions and land degradation and conserving biodiversity. We aim to achieve this through strengthening local and provincial data platforms; supporting investments in eco-tourism, densification, and low-carbon development; and demonstrating the financial sustainability of urban green areas. You can find specific examples of our city projects below.  

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Buenos Aires. Fermin Rodriguez Penelas / Unsplash.

BUENOS AIRES

The Autonomous City of Buenos Aires (CABA) is Argentina’s largest urban center, with a population of 2.89 million people and an additional 3 million commuters entering the city every day from the Buenos Aires Metropolitan Area (AMBA). 

According to the 2019 Vegetation Cover Report and a recent study of the city’s bio-corridors, 30.4% of the City of Buenos Aires retains vegetative cover, supporting an extraordinary variety of plants, birds and other species.  

The CABA promotes ambitious environmental and climate action, specifically targeting energy efficiency, urban mobility, urban greening and city-infilling, positioning it as Argentina’s foremost climate champion. For example, the Green Buenos Aires Plan (2014) aims to ensure that up to 96% of the city’s residents have access to green spaces within a distance of 30 meters.  

Despite these efforts, Buenos Aires struggles with poor air quality, heat, congested roads and loss of biodiversity in the city and surrounding areas. 

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

To help the CABA overcome these challenges, UrbanShift will support the development of a strategic vision and road map for a system of interconnected, integrated, low-emission green corridors across the Buenos Aires Metropolitan Area (AMBA). The corridors will be piloted in the southern, lower income parts of the city through an inclusive, gender and diversity-sensitive process of co-creation, including a base study of the local fauna and flora. 

MAR DEL PLATA 

Mar del Plata is Argentina’s seventh largest city and most popular seaside resort. In the peak summer months, Mar del Plata’s population swells from 650,000 to almost 1.2 million. This influx of tourists places immense pressure on urban services, such as transport, water, energy, and waste management.   

Mar del Plata lies within an important birding area and is close to the Mar Chiquita Provincial Nature Reserve. The city’s strategic plan, “Mar del Plata 2030,” provides a series of targets for urban development, including a green belt to contain urban sprawl. But even though tourism is Mar del Plata’s predominant economic sector, the city lacks a coherent program for decentralizing tourism and promoting practices that reinforce biodiversity conservation and effective land management. 

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

UrbanShift will support Mar del Plata to develop a sustainable tourism plan for 2050, ensuring long-term environmental and urban sustainability through integrated management of the tourism industry. Among other interventions, investments in conservation tourism will be piloted in and around Laguna de los Padres and the Mar Chiquita Biosphere Reserve. 

Mendoza, Argentina
Mendoza. Miguel / Flickr. 

MENDOZA

The Metropolitan Area of Mendoza (AMM) is the most heavily urbanized area in west Argentina. Consisting of the municipalities of Las Heras, Mendoza Capital, Guaymallén, Godoy Cruz, Maipú and Luján de Cuyo, the population of the AMM is expected to increase by almost 20% between 2016 and 2030. 

Mendoza is located in the foothills of the Andes, to the east of Mount Aconcagua, the highest peak in the Americas. The metropolitan area and province are primarily known for wine and olive oil production, with a budding tourism sector. However, Mendoza’s growing population is intensifying demands on the capital’s city center. Coupled with a lack of transparent development data, population pressure is leading to disjointed expansion throughout the AMM and resulting in land degradation and biodiversity loss in the surrounding Andean piedmont.  

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

UrbanShift will support the Mendoza Metropolitan Area to strengthen provincial and municipal digital platforms, incorporating geospatial information and sustainability indicators to facilitate integrated urban planning. The project will also pilot a “sustainable superblock” in the center of Mendoza, prioritizing non-motorized mobility, enhancing waste management through a circular economy approach and improving building and infrastructure energy efficiency. These interventions will demonstrate the social, environmental and economic benefits of a compact, low-emission city center. 

SALTA 

The Metropolitan Area of Salta is located in the warm, dry northern province of Salta, surrounded by the subtropical mountain forests of the Yungas Biosphere Reserve. The Yungas represents one of the richest ecosystems in Argentina and is home to nearly 50% of the country's biodiversity. 

Salta’s economy is largely based on agriculture, mining, manufacturing and tourism. The city has experienced the highest population growth in Argentina over the past two decades, as well as extensive urban sprawl; Salta’s population is projected to increase to 900,000 inhabitants by 2030, from just over 500,000 in 2010. 

This rapid growth is bringing with it associated pressures on urban infrastructure, especially on water supply, drainage and mobility. Salta is making efforts to transition towards a more balanced transport system, improving bus services and cycling facilities and planning a future bus rapid transit (BRT) corridor. 

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

UrbanShift will support the municipalities of the Metropolitan Area of Salta to develop a system of transit-oriented, low-emission green corridors, designed to promote public and non-motorized transport, ecological connectivity and improved resource management. Among other interventions, a Salta-Las Yungas conservation partnership will foster sustainable use of biodiversity through the production and marketing of indigenous commodities, such as handicrafts, native fruits, and smallholder agricultural goods from the Las Yungas area. 

Ushuaia, Argentina
Ushuaia. Juan Pablo Mascanfroni / Unsplash.

USHUAIA

Known as the southernmost city in the world, Ushuaia is the capital of Tierra del Fuego, Argentina’s most isolated and sparsely populated province. The city is located on the coast of the famed Beagle Channel, with economic activity centered around fishing, oil and gas extraction, and tourism.  

Ushuaia’s population has increased by more than 35% in the previous decade (2010-2020). Population growth, combined with the cold climate, poorly insulated houses and high gas subsidies, is mounting pressure on the city’s energy supply; the average residential energy consumption in Ushuaia is 12 times that of Buenos Aires.  

In the absence of an integrated sustainable development plan, Ushuaia is facing a number of urban management challenges, including poorly planned new neighborhoods, encroachment on vital natural areas, and a severely lacking public transport system. 

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION 

UrbanShift will support Ushuaia to develop a “Sustainable Ushuaia 2050” strategic plan, through a participatory and gender-sensitive process involving local and provincial governments and other key stakeholders. A conservation tourism and social development program will also be piloted in Ushuaia and Tierra del Fuego National Park, including a biodiversity monitoring system, activities to repair and strengthen the Municipal Trail Network, a training program for conservation tourism guides, and an early detection system for wildfires.  

 

PROJECT BUDGET 

  • Total GEF Grant: $23.5 MILLION 
  • Co-financing: 184 MILLION