摩洛哥旗帜图片

摩洛哥

摩洛哥拥有3600多万居民,是北非第三大经济体。UrbanShift 在马拉喀什市开展工作,该市约占摩洛哥城市人口的5%。

摩洛哥的UrbanShift 项目由联合国开发计划署与摩洛哥政府和马拉喀什市合作实施。

摩洛哥位于非洲大陆的西北角,包括多样化的森林、林地和沙漠生态系统,拥有大西洋和地中海的海岸线。摩洛哥也是地中海国家中生物多样性比率第二高的国家,拥有特别丰富的海洋生境。

摩洛哥的经济是非洲第七大经济体,以服务业、工业和旅游业为主。然而,农业仍然雇用了最大比例的劳动力,占国内生产总值(GDP)的11%以上。

作为一个中等收入国家,摩洛哥已经成功地将经济增长维持在大约4%的水平(COVID-19之前)。通过积极的宏观经济政策和改革,在改善摩洛哥公民的福利方面取得了重大进展:贫困水平已降至5%以下,摩洛哥的预期寿命在非洲是最高的。

面临的挑战

认识到生物多样性和生态系统服务的价值,摩洛哥在全国各地领导了许多保护工作,包括每年恢复和再生5万公顷森林的计划。摩洛哥还计划到2030年将其温室气体(GHG)排放量控制在45.5%,到2030年实现52%的可再生能源装机容量。由于这些雄心勃勃的气候承诺,摩洛哥在2022年的气候表现指数中排名世界第五。

尽管如此,经济发展和人口增长,加上气候变化和快速城市化,导致摩洛哥的自然资源和生物多样性的压力急剧增加。因此,土地退化、生物多样性丧失和其他人为因素正在加深摩洛哥各地城市中心与气候有关的脆弱性--洪水和干旱周期、极端温度、火灾和滑坡。

马拉凯奇

坐落在阿特拉斯山脉脚下的历史名城马拉喀什,居住着刚刚超过一百万的人口。马拉喀什大约三分之一的收入来自旅游业,使其成为世界上第二大依赖旅游业的城市。其他经济活动包括农工业、贸易和手工业。在过去的35年里,马拉喀什在地理上扩张了10倍。因此,该城市面临着众多的城市挑战,如有限的或不充分的城市规划、缺水和极端温度,这些都因气候变化而加剧。

马拉喀什
摩洛哥,马拉喀什。 Calin Stan / Unsplash.

URBANSHIFT的参与

我们的项目旨在促进马拉喀什的综合城市规划和创新融资工具的发展,采用多部门和包容性的方法来促进可持续增长。这将通过规划和政策改革,以及增加对各经济部门的低碳发展选择的投资来实现。

例子:
  • 审查国家一级的城市规划框架
  • 为三个关键经济部门,即废物管理、生物多样性和水资源制定业务计划
  • 部署和测试基于自然的解决方案(NBS)和农业生物多样性的试点示范
  • 部署可持续交通系统,如电动摩托车和公共汽车

 

项目预算

  • GEF 拨款总额:960万美元
  • 共同融资: 2.98亿美元

 

联系我们

欲了解更多有关UrbanShift"摩洛哥 "活动的信息,请联系 阿玛尔-纳迪姆联合国开发计划署环境、能源和气候变化处处长。

Morocco Banner Image

Morocco

Morocco is home to over 36 million inhabitants and has the third largest economy in North Africa. UrbanShift is engaged in the city of Marrakech, which comprises about 5% of Morocco’s urban population.

The UrbanShift project in Morocco is implemented by UNDP, in partnership with the Government of Morocco and the City of Marrakech.

Located in the north-western corner of the African continent, Morocco encompasses diverse forest, woodland, and desert ecosystems and enjoys coastlines with the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea. Morocco also has the second highest rate of biodiversity among Mediterranean countries, with particularly rich marine habitats.

Morocco’s economy is the seventh-largest in Africa, dominated by the services sector, industry and tourism. However, agriculture still employs the largest proportion of the workforce and accounts for over 11% of the Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

A middle-income country, Morocco has managed to sustain economic growth for several years at roughly 4% (pre-COVID-19). Through aggressive macroeconomic policies and reforms, significant strides have been made to improve the welfare of Moroccan citizens: poverty levels have dropped to under 5% and life expectancy in Morocco is among the highest in Africa.

THE CHALLENGE

Recognizing the value of biodiversity and ecosystem services, Morocco has led many conservation efforts across the country, including programs to restore and regenerate 50,000 hectares of forests on an annual basis. Morocco also plans to curb its greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions by 45.5% by 2030 and achieve 52% installed renewable energy capacity by 2030 as well. Thanks to these ambitious climate commitments, Morocco ranks fifth in the world in the climate performance index for 2022.

Nonetheless, economic development and demographic growth, coupled with climate change and rapid urbanization, have led to a sharp increase in pressure on natural resources and biodiversity in Morocco. Consequently, land degradation, biodiversity loss, and other anthropogenic factors are deepening climate-related vulnerabilities — flood and drought cycles, extreme temperatures, fires and landslides — in urban centers across Morocco.

MARRAKECH

Nestled at the foot of the Atlas Mountains, the historic city of Marrakech is home to just over one million people. Marrakech derives about a third of its income from tourism, making it the second most tourism-dependent city in the world. Other economic activities include agro-industry, trade and handicrafts. Marrakech has expanded 10-fold geographically in the last 35 years. As a result, the city faces numerous urban challenges, such as limited or inadequate urban planning, water scarcity and extreme temperatures, which are being exacerbated by climate change.

Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco. Calin Stan / Unsplash. 

URBANSHIFT’S INTERVENTION

Our project aims to promote integrated urban planning and the development of innovative financing instruments in Marrakech, adopting a multisectoral and inclusive approach to foster sustainable growth. This will be achieved through planning and policy reforms together with increased investments towards low-carbon development options in various economic sectors.

Examples:
  • Review of the urban planning framework at the national level
  • Development of business plans for three key economic sectors, namely waste management, biodiversity and water resources
  • Pilot demonstration for the deployment and testing of nature-based solutions (NBS) and agrobiodiversity
  • Deployment of sustainable mobility systems, such as electric motorcycles and buses

 

PROJECT BUDGET

  • Total GEF Grant: $9.6 million
  • Co-Financing: $298 million

 

CONTACT

For more information about UrbanShift’s activities in Morocco, please contact Amal Nadim, Head of Environment, Energy and Climate Change at UNDP.